Natasha Palha

All posts regarding specific player and player fans threads are in this forum

Moderator: Moderators

vatsal323
Antispam: No
Please enter the middle number: 5

Natasha Palha

Post by vatsal323 »

Here is the new thread for Natasha. She's made it to four ITF singles finals, so I guess this thread is justified enough! :D
sameerph
Moderators
Moderators

Re: Natasha Palha

Post by sameerph »

Yes, although it is not strictly as per unwritten rules, it is fine as in many other cases. :D

I guess she is first player from Goa to come up to this level at least which is a very good achievement.
vatsal323

Post by vatsal323 »

Here's the interview that I did with Natasha a few weeks back. Sorry for posting it so late, as I was busy with college! VT refers to my name, which is, Vatsal Tolasaria. And NP refers to Natasha Palha.

Excerpts:

VT - How and when did you start playing Tennis?

NP - I started playing at the age of 7. My elder sister used to play, so I started practising at home. My parents always liked the sport, so they put me into it as a fun activity. I played my first tournament when I was 10, and then one thing led to another.

VT - Since Goa is not known for its Tennis, was it more difficult?

NP - Yes. I always had to travel outside to practice and for tournaments, so that made it more expensive and troublesome.

VT - Is there any encouragement from the Goa Government? Or any sponsors that help you in your journey?

NP - Dempo sponsors me partly, and has been of great help. Also, Yonex provides me with racquets.

VT - How difficult is it for Indians to make a living out of Tennis?

NP - It's tough not just for Indians, but for everyone, as only around 200 athletes make a living out of the sport.

VT - Is the AITA supportive in any way?

NP - AITA organises tournaments in India, which provide points to Indian players, without having to travel outside the country. Apart from that, it does not provide any financial assistance directly.